Leadership Team

Asim Zia


Professor of Community Development and Applied Economics and Computer Science at University of Vermont

Bindu Panikkar

Associate Director

Assistant Professor in Environmental Studies at the Rubinstein School of Environment and Natural Resources

Internal Governance Committee

Saleem Ali

Founding Director

Professor of Energy and the Environment at University of Delaware

Arne Bomblies

Assistant Professor, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, UVM

Melody Brown Burkins

Associate Director for Programs at Dartmouth College’s Dickey Center for International Understanding

Richard Galbraith

Professor of Medicine and Director of the Vermont Center for Clinical and Translational Science

William Keeton

Professor and Director of Forestry Program, Rubenstein School of Natural Resources, UVM

Laurie Kutner

Library Associate Professor, Bailey/Howe Library UVM

Hendrika (Rycki) Maltby

Professor of Nursing , UVM

Edward McMahon

Research Associate Professor, CDAE and Political Science

Sean Nolan

Director of Dispute Resolution Program and Associate Professor of Law, VT Law School

Lisa Schnell

Associate Professor of English, UVM

External Advisory Board

Betsy Baker

Distinguished Scholar of Vermont Law School, Former Executive Director, North Pacific Research Board

Brian Bronfman

Founder of the Brian Bronfman Family Foundation

Alice T. Day

Board Member of Council for a Livable World

Lincoln H. Day

Board Member of Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation

Mark Fruedenberger

Senior Associate, Tetra Tech ARD

Maria Ivanova

Director of the Global Environmental Governance Project at Yale Center for Environmental Law and Policy, and Assistant Professor of Global Governance at UMass

Richard Kiy

CEO at the Institute of the Americas

Joan K. Meyer

Principal at Industrial Economics, Inc.

Nora Mitchell

Director Emerita of the Conservation Study Institute

David Shirk

Director of the Trans-Border Institute at the University of San Diego

Lawrence Susskind

Ford Professor of Environmental Planning, MIT and Founder, Consensus Building Institute

Ross Virginia

Myers Family Professor of Environmental Science and Director, Institute of Arctic Studies at the Dickey Center for International Understanding at Dartmouth College


Bernardo Aguilar-Gonzalez

Executive Director at Fundación Neotrópica

Pamela Griffin

Independent Scholar

Yurji Bihun

Director of Shelterwood Systems


Professor of Environmental Studies and Natural Resources, University of Vermont

Marta Ceroni

Director of Academy for Systems Change

Jared Margolis

Senior Attorney at Center for Biological Diversity

Anna Gritching Solder

Architect Urbanist Musician

Azur Moulaert

Former Fellow at the Gund Institute of Ecological Economics

Laurel Name

Writer and Editor for Earth Negotiations Bulletin

Kathleen Osgood

Professor at University of the Arctic, and UVM

Rebecca Pincus

Assistant Professor at US Navel War College

Julian Portilla

Director of the Masters Program in Mediation and Conflict Studies, Champlain College

Helena Vladich

Gund Affiliate, Teaching Lecturer, Environmental Science and Policy, Plymouth State University

Research Scholars

Rubaina Anjum

PhD Candidate in Sustainable Development Policy, Economics and Governance at University of Vermont
Gun Graduate Fellow

Anjanette DeCarlo

Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, St. Michael’s College

Benjamin E.K. Ryan

Institute for Environmental Diplomacy and Security Research Coordinator
Master’s Candidate at University of Vermont Community Development and Applied Economics

Todd Walters

Founder and Lead Expedition Guide of International Peace Park Expeditions

Richmond Silvanus Baye

PhD Candidate in Sustainable Development Policy, Economics and Governance
Social and Ecological Gaming and Simulation Lab Researcher

Gemma Del Rossi

Professor of Political Science at Kennesaw State University

Michele Zebich-Knos

Professor of Political Science at Kennesaw State University

Laurent Cartier

Swiss Gemmological Institute SSEF

Skip to toolbar